Month's Goal: $300, Received: $305.00 - (102%) Contribute Now
Donate whatever you can or Join the 15,000 other NAWCC members for only $72 (plus $10 for hard copy publications). Check it out here.

NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread. The last post was 926 days ago. If your post is not directly related to this discussion please consider making a new thread.

Default Howard Miller Wall Clock Chime Question

Hi all, clock newbie here, I just got a lovely Howard Miller David wall clock (620-234) and I carefully hung it and removed the foam from inside, and the clock started running immediately and chiming. I set the time using the minute hand counterclockwise as directed, and moved the chime silencer lever to silent, as I do not need a chime usually. The clock has five chime rods. My question is, why does it chime constantly when I move the chime lever to "chime"? Not all the rods do, just the three that gong the hour, like a consistent hour gong, over and over. Like, it chimed probably 20 times and would only stop when I moved the lever back to "silent". It has the Westminster chime. I probably won't use the chime much if any, but just wondering why it chimes constantly until I moved the lever to "silent". It is brand new, and so maybe it just needs to operate in the "chime" mode for awhile? I just was afraid to let it do that and chime so many times, thought it might wear something out. Otherwise, seems to be doing just fine and operating well *fingers crossed*. After a day or so of operating, (with chime on silent mode), the clock seems to be doing fine, has a nice tick tock sound, and keeps pretty good time..I am going to let it operate for about awhile on "silent" mode and then maybe try the chime again in a day or so. Also, if I want to move the time forward slightly, like by two minutes, can I do that safely by just moving the minute hand forward? Thanks for any ideas or suggestions for a newbie like me!